More and More Effort Required to Avoid Windows 10

While I did not see the forced count down timer, I did get the update notice on the updates screen. I hid the update.

Also, apparently about the same time it showed up, GWXUX.EXE started crashing on me every time I came back to the pc. I had previously uninstalled all the updates associated with the win 10 updater, but this appears to have been installed by a new update on 10/10.

Found out what update it was and uninstalled it. Lo and behold, there were 30 updates being hidden because of it.

At this point Windows 10 can only be considered Spyware and potentially Malware.

PC World Article On Force Windows Upgrades

If you run into issues, or just want to get ride of the annoying upgrade icon, check out this blog post.

How to remove “Get Windows 10” upgrade notification and GWX.exe process

Leave a comment